Adventures of Eating with dReJ: healthy, cheap, delicious

So RJ and I have been talking about trying Waldhorn forever. Another couple also expressed interest in going, so finally – we made plans to check this place out this past Friday.

For those of you that may have never heard of Waldhorn (pronounced Vahld-horn), it’s a German restaurant located in Charlotte. I guess technically it’s in Pineville, but whatever.

The point is – you should go. It was amazing!

When you first arrive – it really does look like you’re at that place in Epcot where they have all the different countries. The architecture/style of the restaurant from the outside really just looks “German.” I was a little surprised when I walked in because I guess I was expecting something a bit more fancy. It has more of a family style feel even though the first thing you see when you walk in is the bar.

I think the decor inside could be a bit more authentic, but the food and service more than made up for what the decor was lacking.

Of course, we started with an authentic German beer. They claim to have the best German beer selection in town including traditional beers from Germany with breweries dating back to the year 1040. Pretty cool. Although this is coming from the gal who likes Bud Light Lime. 🙂

Mmmm - German beer!

RJ ordered me the Franziskaner Hefeweizen which is a wheat beer as I’ve been exploring more Hefeweizen’s lately in an effort to be more cool. 😉 I have to say it wasn’t my favorite Hefe I’ve had – I didn’t finish all of it. But the other couple with us ordered the same thing and loved it.

RJ went with something darker, aptly named Franziskaner (dark wheat).  He thought it was a heavy wheat beer.  It was oddly cloudy for a dark wheat, but still crisp.  The Finish was a bit “doughy”.  All in all he said the beer was good, but maybe a bit heavy to pair with the duck meal (more on that later!).

3 types of sausage with sauerkraut

It was fun to go with another couple because we had the opportunity to share an appetizer and try everyone’s entrée.  We started with (how could you not?) the Bratwurst Vorspeise / Sausage Appetizer which was a sampler of assorted German sausages with Sauerkraut for 10.95.  It was awesome – see below! I highly recommend this appetizer – but make sure you plan on sharing because you won’t be able to eat your main dish otherwise!

It was a hard choice for the main dishes for everyone. Everything looked interesting and really unique.

I surprised myself and ordered red meat which i RARELY do (no pun intended, i swear!). But my thoughts about that are if I’m craving it, I’m craving it for a reason -so go for it. I also try to apply this theory to chocolate, but that is probably not a good idea!

Wow! It was so good!

Anyway, I ordered the Rinderfilet “Stephanie” $22.95 which was a Filet Mignon, wrapped in bacon and puff pastry, then baked, and served with Béarnaise sauce, home fries and fresh vegetables.

I didn’t make it anywhere close to eating all of this, but it was really tasty. I have never had a puff pastry around a steak before – interesting concept and the Bearnaise sauce was  perfect.

Sorry - I couldn't contain myself. I took a bit before I took the pic!

RJ and I also split a cup of their Tagessuppe  (soup of the day): Mushroom. It was perfect! They also bring out bread – and by bread I mean hot and delicious pretzel rolls.

So needless to say, this turned into a large meal!

Duck Duck...Goose!

RJ ordered the Gebratene Ente $15.95 which was an Oven Roasted Half Duck with an orange-apple sauce, served with bread dumplings and red cabbage. This really is half a duck people. Huge meal. When they brought it out his mouth dropped.  Its sad because you really can not take duck home.  The meat was roasted to perfection, the hunters sauce with orange undertones was dead on.  The dumplings were a perfect side to the savory with a touch of sweet meal.

Our friends ordered Schweizer Schnitzel $15.95  which was a Breaded Pork Cutlet, stuffed with Black Forest ham and Swiss cheese, served with Spätzle and vegetable of the day and the Wienerschnitzel $16.95 which was Breaded Veal Cutlets, served over pasta.

I entrusted picture taking of those meals to our dear friends, but we’ll blame it on the Hefeweizen’s that there are no pictures of their meals on my camera!

But I’ll say this – I tried a little bit of everyone’s except the Wienerschnitzel and everything was delicious. No one had bad things to say about their meals and my only regret is that I didn’t have any room left over for dessert which was Pumpkin Cheesecake.

While the prices may be a little high for some of the entrées, once you taste the food you’ll feel like you certainly get what you pay for. I’d love to go back again and try something different.

Our server was excellent – super friendly and knowledgeable about all the meals. The restaurant felt downright cozy and there was a guy playing the accordion in traditional garb. So it was a bit loud, but a good time was had by all.

The server mentioned they do Sunday brunch and made it sound amazing. I see a little bit more German food in our future! Be sure to check them out if you haven’t already: http://www.waldhorn.us/

Comments on: "Waldhorn Restaurant Review" (5)

  1. Katy Lauro said:

    I love this restaurant! At lunch they serve pretzel bread sandwiches that are amazing!

  2. We’re glad you enjoyed our food and atmosphere, we hope to see you and your friends many more times in the Waldhorn.

    Viele Gruesse
    Gitta and Tom Maier

  3. Definitely do the Sunday brunch. It is amazing! It is a buffet with something for everyone. Now I wish I could go tomorrow :o( They also have a beer club that meets on Tuesday’s.

  4. Brunch is phenomenal….. The best bacon in the world

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

